Skip to content

Lucky Charms….they’re magically delicious

September 26, 2006
As we were planning our trip home this summer we spent a bunch of time in the various tourist traps around the island searching for that special gift, or souvenir for family back home.
 
One of the things that I noticed is how many of these places were carrying different charms/tokens/jewellery that purported to bring the bearer "luck" or "good luck".  Very few of these items were the same shape or material, so it got me wondering how many of these things actually work.  Is there a group of people testing the devices and if they are, how do they do it? To me to test them you would have to receive good luck, but I would think you would never know if you just happened to be lucky that day when you tested for some other reason, or if the device in question was actually the cause.  It seems unlikely to me that so many different things could bring good luck, or else we would all have good luck most of the time and the term luck would have to be replaced by just an average day.  Good luck as we know it would cease to exist as normal luck would be good luck.  [confused yet?] 
 
I wonder if anyone has ever tried to return said charm/token citing that "it must be defective", because not long after they bought it not only did they not win the lottery, their car exploded or a cinder block fell from a 2nd story window onto their foot and the even the doctor called that "unlucky".  {As an aside, is unlucky really the same as bad luck?  To me it should me you have no luck, but bad luck is a type of luck}.
 
Although on closer inspection I noticed something important.  Many of the charms just suggest that the bearer will have "luck".  Now if I was marketing a bracelet to tourists, and I thought it would bring good luck, I would say so.  So if I didn’t choose the word good, than I am guessing that it must refer to "bad" luck and I wouldn’t want to put that on the package because it would obviously hurt sales.
 
So, this made me wonder if anyone who purchases the bad luck bracelets actually have noticed that their luck has gotten worse and, if so, do you suppose they return for more charms?  It might just be the best marketing ploy ever.  Keep selling bad luck and people will return for more charm bracelets.  Now you would have to change them up (they eventually will stop buying the same thing over and over) but with some clever packaging, you could have loyal devout customers and them not even know it.
 
Lucky for all of you, this is the end of this post.
 
Special thanks to Baygone, for sponsoring this post.  It wasn’t until I fumagated the apartment with it that most of this "thinking" came to me.
 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment